2017年Sedex英国年会精彩回顾

Sedex英国年会于2017年4月5日至4月6日在伦敦市中心QEII 会议中心落下帷幕。 数以百计在负责任采购方面的代表们出席了为期两天的会议,并分享了彼此对负责任采购的想法和趋势分析。

Sedex首席执行官Jonathan Ivelaw-Chapman在开幕致辞中提出“我们的挑战以及不断持续提高的理念”。为了应对各个阶段的变化,我们应该运用工具,特别是技术来支持我们。

 

来自43个不同国家的参会人通过线上和线下的形式参与到本次会议,倾听专家们围绕“在实践中不断提高”的主题进行发声。

从强迫劳工,指导和立法,以及将可持续性发展纳入董事会议程,联合改进到采购实践,会议涵盖了负责任采购和可持续性供应链的相关话题。与会者倾听了来自不同公司代表的观点,这些公司代表有英国广播公司, Finnair, 汇丰银行, 玛氏, S&P Dow Jones Indices, The Body Shop, Verisk Maplecroft。以及其他组织,例如Bluenumber Foundation, Business in the Community, ETI, Forum for the Future, Institute for Human Rights and Business 等。

以下是参会代表在本次年会提出的精彩观点:

  • 活动家、作家和可持续发展顾问Tony Juniper的主题演讲强调了快速变化发生在世界人口爆炸和资源需求增加供应链压力。
  • “你需要关注的关键事情…要做一个真正的区别是它的教育还是技术?如果风险最小化和利益查封,然后需要从品牌开始领导”。
    • Futerra创始人之一Ed Gillespie,通过他的精彩发言让观众深思品牌的挑战后,供应商和组织实施真正的实践,实现持续改进。

    “我们复杂性的供应链产生的问题…不管你使用的是哪个系统来管理…这不是关于做同样的事情做得更好,这是做从根本上更重要的事情”。

    • 兴奋的观众与Provenance的创始人Jessi Baker讨论周边区块链和“可信的未来供应链的透明度”。Jessi提到“我们正在向一个新的未来的前进。这是技术可以代理信任本身”
    • 专家讨论环节提出 “用技术解锁工人的声音”。讨论得出的结论是“我们需要在管理体系中融入工人的声音。”
    • “中国工人:从数据到故事”,映诺社区创始人李迪先生向与会者传递了中国工人的现状以及传递他们的声音。大部分的工人希望减少加班并有更多的时间陪伴在家人身边,获取合理的报酬以及享受带薪休假。

     “负责任招聘”讨论环节中,专家们提供了现代奴隶制度立法,案例和建议如何确保企业超越合规。Henriette McCool共享卡塔尔的一个案例,有一个移民工被迫支付招聘费,但QVDC显示可以通过大量的详细和全面的工作解决这个问题。专家组一致认为,需要使用不同的方法在不同的地区和企业需要注意发生了什么在自己的工作场所。

    “各国政府需要帮助建立强有力的机构,保护工人的权利,使他们能够在安全的环境中运作。需要多方努力,这意味着汇集工会、私人公司和政府到地方层面”, Olivia Elliot分享了从纺织行业洞察力,坦桑尼亚工业、贸易和投资。“加强劳工标准和实践在非洲制造:亚洲的教训。

现场调查第一次纳入到会议软件,并有助参会人查看会议议程并在会议期间参与问答互动。

 

我们非常荣幸的首次举办了Sedex表彰大会,庆祝全世界Sedex会员们的辛勤工作。在聚光灯下展示他们持续改进的努力,为供应链,员工和环境产生了积极的影响。

 

获奖名单:

  • 持续提高最佳案例奖– 马莎百货 (英国): 马莎食品如何建立商业可持续性框架。
  • 最佳合作奖– AMC Group (西班牙): 果汁企业社会责任平台。
  • 最佳项目创新奖– ELEVATE (英国)与EICC合作项目: 工作场所的选择项目。

 

获取更多信息有关获奖者及其项目。

 

会议完整视频尽在优酷网Sedex页面。 感谢所有演讲者的精彩发言和赞助商对本次会议的大力支持,以及出席本次会议的所有与会者。

 

如果您希望成为2018年Sedex年会的演讲者,请发送邮件至communications@sedexglobal.com 期待明年再次与您相见!

Practical ideas provided at Sedex Conference 2017

The Sedex Conference 2017 on 5-6 April was held in the heart of London’s Westminster at the QEII Conference Centre. The prestigious setting hosted hundreds of leaders in responsible sourcing for two days of idea sharing, interactivity, networking and practical advice.

Jonathan Ivelaw-Chapman, Sedex CEO, mentioned in his summary of the event “the challenge and increasing urgency around continuous improvement continues. However…we seem to be gathering pace and momentum…in order for the step change to occur, recognise that there are tools and a number of initiatives that exist now to support this, in particular technology”.

Attendees from over 43 countries joined the event both in person and online to hear from experts on a range of key topics around the theme ‘continuous improvement, in practice’.

From forced labour, to guidance or legislation, to selling sustainability into the boardroom agenda and joint remediation, to purchasing practices – the conference agenda covered the most relevant topics for responsible sourcing and supply chain sustainability. Attendees heard from a range of panellists from companies including BBC Worldwide, Finnair, HSBC, Mars, S&P Dow Jones Indices, The Body Shop, Verisk Maplecroft, and from organisations such as the Bluenumber Foundation, Business in the Community, ETI, Forum for the Future, Institute for Human Rights and Business and many more.

Delegates were provided with a number of key highlights during the Sedex Conference 2017, some of which included:

  • Campaigner, writer and sustainability adviser, Tony Juniper’s keynote speech highlighted the rapid change taking place in the world with the population explosion and increased demand on resources putting pressure on supply chains.

    “You need to focus on the key things that are going to make a real difference…is it education, is it technology? If the risks are to be minimised and the benefits seized, then leadership from brands is needed now”.

  • Ed Gillespie, Co-Founder of Futerra, blazed through his spotlight talk to leave the audience deep in thought after he challenged brands, suppliers and organisations to put real practices in place to achieve continuous improvement.

    ‘The complexity of our supply chains are creating problems…no matter which system you are using to manage this it is going to be disrupted…this is not about doing the same things better, this is actually about doing fundamentally better things”, he said.

  • Jessi Baker Founder of Provenance excited the audience with her discussion surrounding blockchain and ‘the future of trusted transparency in supply chains‘. Jessi mentioned “we are moving towards a new future for trust. Which is where technology can be the broker for trust itself”.
  • Expert panellists from key technology providers discussed the benefits of ‘unlocking worker voice using technology‘. The discussion came to the conclusion “we need to move away from worker voice pilots and integrate results within management systems”.
  • Chinese workers: from data to story‘, presented by the Founder of Inno- Dee Lee wants companies to see beyond a number. Workers in China are human beings and are smarter than you think. They want similar things to all workers like spending time with family and friends as well as fundamental basics like overtime and paid leave.
  • The panel ‘responsible recruitment‘ discussed the Modern Slavery legislation and provided expert examples and advice on how to ensure businesses go beyond compliance. Henriette McCool shared an example of Qatar having an endemic of migrant workers being forced to pay recruitment fees, but QVDC showed that it is possible to tackle the issue through a lot of detailed and thorough work. The panel agreed that different approaches are required in different areas and that businesses need to pay attention to what’s happening in their own workplaces.

    “Governments across the world need help in building strong institutions that protect workers’ rights, allowing them to operate in safe environments. It needs to be a multi-stakeholder effort, which means bringing together trade unions, private companies and the government right down to the local level”, said Olivia Elliot, Industry Insight Manager from the Textile Development Unit, Tanzania Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment, in her speech on ‘Strengthening labour standards and practices in African manufacturing: lessons from Asia‘.

Live polling was introduced for the first time via the conference event app which also allowed delegates to personalise their agenda, network through technology and answer interactive questions during sessions.

For the first time we were thrilled and honoured to host the Sedex Awards, celebrating the fantastic work done by Sedex members worldwide. The Awards were designed to provide members with a chance to put their business in the spotlight and showcase continuous improvement efforts which have made a positive impact to the supply chain, people or the environment.

The winners of each category were:

  • Best example of continuous improvement– M&S (UK): M&S Food How We Do Business (HWDB) Sustainability Framework.
  • Best collaborative effort– AMC Group (Spain): The Juice CSR Platform.
  • Most innovative new programme– ELEVATE (UK) in collaboration with EICC: Workplace of Choice Programme.

Find out more about the winners and their projects here.

 

Once again, the online audience had a chance to watch live interviews with a selection of speakers. The full playlist of sessions and live interviews is available on the Sedex YouTube page. Thanks to all the fantastic speakers, sponsors and most importantly our attendees for an unforgettable two day conference.

We look forward to seeing you all again next year. Please email communications@sedexglobal.com if you would like to be involved as a speaker in 2018.

 

Watch highlights here

Join thousands of businesses of all kinds across the world

Join Sedex